StockFetcher Forums · Filter Exchange · Historical volatility vs Implied volatility<< 1 2 >>Post Follow-up
graftonian
1,089 posts
msg #146779
Ignore graftonian
3/2/2019 1:41:09 PM

I've been searching for a way to approximate implied volatility, any ideas?
Fetcher[
chart-time is 1 years
optionable
Average Volume(30) > 5000000
set{200dayhi, Historical Volatility(5,1) 200 day high}
set{200daylo, Historical Volatility(5,1) 200 day low}
set{hvr1, Historical Volatility(5,1) - 200daylo}
set{hvr2, 200dayhi - 200daylo}
set{hvr3, hvr1 /hvr2}
set{histvolrank, hvr3 * 100}
add column histvolrank
sort on column 5 descending
/*HULL MA */
set{slow1, cwma(histvolrank,15)}
set{slow2, 2 * slow1}
set{slow3, cwma(histvolrank, 30)}
set{valslow, slow2 - slow3}
set{hvrAvg, cwma(valslow, 5)}
draw hvrAvg on plot histvolrank
]

Cheese
1,374 posts
msg #146781
Ignore Cheese
3/3/2019 3:26:08 PM

Graf,

I have zero options trading experience, so I normally wouldn't post a reply.
I only research and respond to your inquiry in appreciation of the great stuff you've posted on Guppy.

I found this suggestion by future options trader Delta10 on how to estimate IV:
When trading future options, you dont have built in implied volatility .
You need to calculate the IV by calculating
(volaCloseToday - volaLowest-52weeks) / (volaHighest-52weeks - volaLowest-52weeks).
If the IVR is above 40%, then you should think about checking options premium, since premium is currently higher as in former days.
In order to see, whether the Volatility Rank is above 40, the color of the line is green when over 40 or red if IVR is under 40.

Please refer to this page by Delta10 for more info
https://www.tradingview.com/chart/E61!/nWbMASLJ-Implied-Volatility-Rank-Indicator-IVR/

Hope this helps. Good luck, Graf.

Cheese
1,374 posts
msg #146782
Ignore Cheese
3/3/2019 3:29:38 PM

Fetcher[
/* Delta10 IMPLIED VOLATILITY ESTIMATE */
chart-time is 2 years
SYMLIST(TNA,AMZN,AAPL)