StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · How to find job as a professional trader?<< >>Post Follow-up
rrrbbbggguo
29 posts
msg #37719
Ignore rrrbbbggguo
8/30/2005 3:45:42 PM

Hi, Friends / experts:

I am a scientist in drug company for 15 years, but I am quite interested to change my career to a prfessional stock trader. Does anyone know how to make this happen? and what the salary level will be? if my trade are very successful, what kind bonus will be?

Thanks!!

trade_4_money
6 posts
msg #37746
Ignore trade_4_money
8/31/2005 7:35:01 PM

It'll take years of experience and learning to be a successful professional trader.

To be a professional trader, you need to pass Series 7, 55, and 63 exams, then you join one of the trading firms. Some firms require you to make an initial deposit in your sub account, but mostly, you trade with their own capital. You share 50% of the profit with them. As far as bonus, after you made $100K net profit, your payout could be raised to 75%. Most of these firms have strict trader guidelines, you have to follow them and be disciplined on every trade.

Since you're trading as a pro, you'll need to pay SEC fees, ECN fees and registration fees.

Good luck!

rrrbbbggguo
29 posts
msg #37747
Ignore rrrbbbggguo
8/31/2005 8:25:49 PM

trade_4_money:

Thank you so much for the instruction! Does the exam series hard to pass? and after passing the exams, is it hard to find a trader's position?

trade_4_money
6 posts
msg #37758
Ignore trade_4_money
9/1/2005 7:33:00 AM

These exams are not easy if you have no financial background. It was easy for me because I have a Ph.D. in Economics and Finance, I researched (DD) stocks for many years. Do a googling on these exams, you'll see what's in these exams.

You should trade on your own account first before attemping to find a trader job. First do paper trade, then open an online account, do some real trades.