StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Can someone explain this volume spike ?<< >>Post Follow-up
novacane32000
331 posts
msg #158875
Ignore novacane32000
3/24/2022 12:48:38 PM

Crawford A shares (CRD.A) normally trade about 30k shares/day. Thinly traded, to say the least.

So today they have a spike of 1.4 million shares traded at 11am. More shares "traded" in one hour than any single day in the last 8 years and the price barely moves??

Not sure what to make of this. Any thoughts ?

Cheese
1,374 posts
msg #158878
Ignore Cheese
3/24/2022 2:21:51 PM

https://www.stockfetcher.com/forums/General-Discussion/Can-someone-explain-this-volume-spike/158875
======================

@novacane32000

(DISCLAIMER: I have no direct knowledge and cannot verify any of these)

Some news tidbits:
* strong cash flow, favorable debt profile, and nearly fully funded pension liability
* new CEO, International Operations
* Crawford’s Board of Directors authorized the addition of 5.0 million shares of CRD-A and CRD-B to its 2021 Repurchase Authorization which had approximately 413,000 shares remaining at year end.
* For the full year, the Company repurchased approximately 531,000 shares of CRD-A and 1.7 million shares of CRD-B at an average cost per share of $9.63 and $8.26, respectively. The total cost of share repurchases during 2021 was $19.1 million.

novacane32000
331 posts
msg #158881
Ignore novacane32000
3/24/2022 3:57:10 PM

Thanks Cheese but still baffled.

I apparently know much less than the little I thought I knew about trading.

If you told me a thinly traded stock had a volume surge of >4000% in one day, I would bet a few paychecks that it moved well in excess of 20% in one direction or the other but it has barely moved.

Cheese
1,374 posts
msg #158882
Ignore Cheese
3/24/2022 8:18:50 PM

https://www.stockfetcher.com/forums/General-Discussion/Can-someone-explain-this-volume-spike/158875
======================

@novacane32000

(DISCLAIMER & WARNING: