StockFetcher Forums · General Discussion · Performance Testing and Dates: Limitations of Stockfetcher<< >>Post Follow-up
jim_c_hill
61 posts
msg #26768
Ignore jim_c_hill
6/7/2003 11:54:32 AM

Hi
I am new to stockfetcher but have been a long time user of metastock software for system development. It is very important to have a good history of data to test systems over a variety of stock market behaviors: Up, down, steeply up, steeply down, flat, etc. One can develop a system that gives great results in a strong upmove such as recently but fails in all other environments. For example, I use May 3, 2002 to Sept. 18, 2002 to test long(buy) systems in a very difficult bear market. Very few long systems do well in that environment. You may choose to still use the system but at least you know what problems you may encounter.
Stockfetcher has a one year database[based on what I have read and tested before coming a member] which means only a limited history can be tested. In the next few months the period I referenced above will disappear as part of the database. Soon the database available for testing performance will be less robust. Performance testing may lead to systems that are not as robust as one might think.
I plan to use stockfetcher, for the moment, for testing some general ideas, but for robust performance testing and more complicated analysis I will have to use metastock.
Jim

tomb
267 posts
msg #26770
Ignore tomb
6/7/2003 12:19:10 PM

Hi Jim,

Thank you for the post. First, StockFetcher currently has a 5+ year database of stock values. It is true that some measures and features can not utilize the entire period of time (due to performance considerations.) But, when performing back-tests (i.e. the 'date offset' command) you can retrieve more than 1 year of history.

For example:

Fetcher[show stocks where close is below lower bollinger band
and date offset is 5/1/2000
]